SAN BERNARDINO, CA (November 2, 2022) – Dreyer & Reinbold Racing JC (DRR JC) had another successful weekend at Glen Helen Raceway for round four of Nitro Rallycross (Nitro RX).

The battle brackets were the feature of Saturday’s racing action. Andreas Bakkerud and Fraser McConnell both surpassed their competition of Conner Martell and Oliver Bennett, however, Robin Larsson fell to Kevin Eriksson by less than a second. Bakkerud would be the next to fall to an Erikkson, but this time Oliver. McConnell defeated K. Erikkson for a showdown between O. Erikkson and himself in the championship battle. McConnell was able to secure a win and earn his first Top Qualifier (TQ) of the year.

While Bakkerud and McConnell were in the hospital the racing continued at ERX Motor Park with Larsson winning the battle brackets and earning his second Top Qualifier (TQ) in two of three races this season.

Additionally, on Saturday, NRX NEXT driver, Lane Vacala, earned his first podium of the year finishing third.

On Sunday, McConnell and Larsson both won their heats and advanced straight to the final to start first and second respectively. In the semi-finals, Bakkerud finished second which put him at a fourth starting position for the final.

In the final, the DRR & DRR JC cars got off to an early lead of 1-2-3. Larsson jokered from 2nd position on lap two to put him in 4th on track, but 1st of the cars that had jokered. Laps three through five saw McConnell and Bakkerud in the first and second positions. On the last lap, McConnell and Bakkerud had to use the slower joker lap which led to a hectic merge with McConnell staying in the lead. The teammates were all able to get through unscathed to sweep the podium with McConnell capturing the checkered flag.

“Hats off to DRR & JC to get another 1-2-3 finish which is just remarkable,” said McConnell. “It just goes to show the caliber of the team. We are definitely here to make a statement and we mean business.”

Larsson who has made the podium in every round thus far was able to secure another silver medal.

“I feel a little bad to be disappointed about a P2, but it is really good for the championship, DRR, and Monster Energy. ” said Larsson. “We had a really great weekend and I can’t complain.”

Bakkerud, the final DRR JC teammate to round out the podium, was happy to be up on the 3rd step after a rough and sore race at ERX Motor Park.

“I lost a little bit of confidence after my wreck at ERX Motor Park, however, after my second session it all came back to me,” said Bakkerud. “Throughout the whole weekend I felt pretty good, I wish we could have some things go our way a bit more, but all in all a great weekend.”

After round four, DRR JC & DRR drivers still sit atop the championship with Larsson, Bakkerud, and McConnell while increasing their lead to fourth.

The action will press forward on November 12-13 in Chandler, Arizona at Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park.


About Dreyer & Reinbold Racing

Dreyer & Reinbold Racing was founded in 1999 by Indianapolis car dealer Dennis Reinbold. The legacy of the Dreyer and Reinbold family dates back to the 1920s with Reinbold’s grandfather, the legendary Floyd “Pop” Dreyer, a former factory motorcycle racer. Dreyer served as a crewman and mechanic on the famed Duesenberg driven by Benny Shoaff and Babe Stapp in the 1927 Indy 500. Dreyer went on to build Indy 500 cars in the 1930s many of which started on the front row. In addition, Dreyer constructed championship-winning sprint cars and midgets as well as quarter midgets called Dreyerettes. Dreyer & Reinbold Racing captured its first win in 2000 with driver Robbie Buhl at Walt Disney World Speedway in Orlando, FL, and has fielded a variety of drivers including Buddy Lazier, Sarah Fisher, Buddy Rice, Al Unser Jr., Sage Karam, and J.R. Hildebrand. Dreyer & Reinbold Racing has successfully qualified all 45 drivers for the Indy 500 in its history. DRR competed in Rallycross for the first time in 2015 and captured the 2016 Lites rallycross championship. In 2021, the team campaigned Tanner Foust and Cabot Bigham in the Supercar division of Nitro Rallycross. Additionally, the team ran a selection of lites cars that included drivers such as Sage Karam and Conner Martell. The team currently competes in the 2022 NRX rallycross series with the all-new FC1-X all-electric vehicles. Additionally, the team runs a selection of NEXT cars that includes driver Lane Vacala.


About JC Raceteknik

JC Raceteknik is a professional rallycross team based in Sweden. They have competed across the world such as Nitro Rallycross, World Rallycross, European Rallycross, and RallyX Nordic. They have won titles across different seasons including the FIA European Rallycross Drivers Championship in 2019 with Robin Larsson and FIA World Rallycross Drivers Championship in 2021 with Johan Kristoffersson.