CARMEL, IN (June 30, 2022) – DRR JC teammates Robin Larsson and Andreas Bakkerud finish first and second in the Group E final in the Nitro Rallycross season opener at Lydden Hill Race Circuit.

Larsson had a near-perfect weekend as he was fastest in practice, swept the battle bracket, won his heat, and then took a strong win in the final.

“More or less a perfect weekend,” Larsson said. “The only struggle we had was that I had a bad qualification so I had to do one more battle bracket than the top guys, but we won all our brackets, won my heat today, and had pole position for the final.”

The pole position proved valuable as a wreck in turn 1 of the first lap allowed Larsson and Bakkerud to come out unscathed. Unfortunately, Fraser McConnell and Ole Christian Veiby as their cars were damaged for the remainder of the race. McConnell of Dreyer & Reinbold Racing X Team Frazzz, who suffered damage on lap one, was able to expertly manage the broken car around the difficult track to come home in 4th position. Veiby was similarly able to look after his car and finish in 5th.

Lane Vacala in the NEXT category had a solid weekend. In the first of the double-header weekend, he ran strong the whole race in the 3rd position, however, a last-lap lunge from another competitor dropped Vacala down to 4th position. Round 2 turned into a chaotic race with Vacala picking up unavoidable damage on lap 1. After a red flag for a track repair, Vacala pulled off due to lack of visibility. Even so, he was classified in the 5th position.

Larsson has set himself up well for the championship scoring the maximum amount of points in round one. Bakkerud sits second in the points with McConnell and Veiby not far behind. Larsson has his eyes set on his home race next round in Strängnäs, Sweden.


About Dreyer & Reinbold Racing

Dreyer & Reinbold Racing was founded in 1999 by Indianapolis car dealer Dennis Reinbold. The legacy of the Dreyer and Reinbold family dates back to the 1920s with Reinbold’s grandfather, the legendary Floyd “Pop” Dreyer, a former factory motorcycle racer. Dreyer served as a crewman and mechanic on the famed Duesenberg driven by Benny Shoaff and Babe Stapp in the 1927 Indy 500. Dreyer went on to build Indy 500 cars in the 1930s many of which started on the front row. In addition, Dreyer constructed championship-winning sprint cars and midgets as well as quarter midgets called Dreyerettes. Dreyer & Reinbold Racing captured its first win in 2000 with driver Robbie Buhl at Walt Disney World Speedway in Orlando, Fla., and has fielded a variety of drivers including Buhl, Buddy Lazier, Sarah Fisher, Buddy Rice, Al Unser Jr., Sage Karam and J.R. Hildebrand. Dreyer & Reinbold Racing has successfully qualified all 42 drivers for the Indy 500 in its history. DRR, who competed in Rallycross for the first time in 2015, captured the 2016 Lites rallycross championship. In 2021, the team campaigned Tanner Foust and Cabot Bigham in the Supercar division of Nitro Rallycross. Additionally, the team ran a selection of lites cars that included drivers such as Sage Karam, Conner Martell, and Lane Vacala.


About the JC Raceteknik

JC Raceteknik is a professional rallycross team based in Sweden. They have competed across the world such as Nitro Rallycross, World Rallycross, European Rallycross, and RallyX Nordic. They have won titles across different seasons including the FIA European Rallycross Drivers Championship in 2019 with Robin Larsson and FIA World Rallycross Drivers Championship in 2021 with Johan Kristoffersson.